Carl, dog sitter in Barry

Haynes Dog Walking

Carl

About Carl

I live with my partner and 3 cats, 2 pure-bred ragdolls and 1 British-Shorthair Cross. All of them are adorable, as you can imagine. I am currently in my final year at the University of South Wales, studying BA (Hons) Photography so I can be very flexible with walking and sitting times as our final year is self-driven study where I will be working mostly from home. The cats will be happy sleeping in the rooms upstairs if your pet does not get along with cats as they sleep all day anyway.

I grew up around multitudes of dogs, the majority of which were German Shepherds with some of my earliest memories consisting of myself sleeping in the dog's bed with them.
My partner also grew up around dogs (both working and pets) on her farm, as well as cows, pigs, sheep, chickens and a donkey.

I have always had a connection with dogs and appreciate the necessity to treat them with respect as well as an air of authority to reinforce a dog's desire to behave and follow commands. I am always enthusiastic on walks as dogs often reflect the energy of their owner/walker. I also know to ensure that once the house has been entered, energy levels must drop to encourage the dog to relax in the house.
I live a short walk from Barry waterfront and Victoria park, I can walk my them along the beach or in the park if your dog is not a fan of the beach.

I am available to walk dogs in the areas surrounding your home as I can drive.

Please excuse the emptiness of the house in the photographs, me and my partner are moving in on the 31st July and have not as of yet transferred across our furniture.
Over-night boarding includes at least two long walks during the day (more or less if it is required, just ask). I may be boarding as many as 3 dogs at any one point so please feel free to mention if this will be an issue and I will do my best to accommodate.

Walks will be a minimum of an hour in length, likely longer and I always carry extra water and a bowl with me to ensure the dogs are never without water if they require it.

My car is only a fiesta so exceptionally large dogs may not be overly comfortable if they do not like driving, however, I can have my partner sit with him/her to ensure they are as calm as possible during the trip if you would prefer.

Daycare will also include a minimum of two walks: one early in the morning and one in the early evening.

+ More
Credentials
    • Address verified
    • Passed assessment
    • Approved by DogBuddy
  • Number of completed bookings: 4
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within a few hours
  • Cancellation policy for 24h boarding: Flexible
  • Cancellation policy for other services: Flexible
  • Property type: Apartment
  • Resident dogs: One
  • Other Pets: We have 2 Purebred Ragdoll Cats (2 Yrs old) - They are extremely lazy. 1 British-Shorthair Cross (1 Yr Old) - She is very playful and never aggressive. All 3 have been spayed and have had their vaccinations as well as being regularly wormed, flead and gro
  • Outdoor space: Garden
  • I have a car for emergencies
  • I can administer oral medications
  • Dog care is my primary occupation
  • Lynne
    Lynne

    Carl is a very caring, considerate dog sitter who i would recommend to any dog lover who is anxious about leaving their dog. Bud is a pup and requires hard work which carl provided happily and professionally. Excellent!

    3rd June 2016

  • Joanna
    Joanna

    Brilliant! I am more than pleased with Carl's service. I needed a dog sitter at short notice as I was let down and he was more than willing to help. We had a meet before hand to see how Poppy would react to him and she surprising she took to him straight away so I was more than happy to leave Poppy with him. Carl kept in contact throughout Poppy's stay. Carl's seems to have a vast knowledge of dogs and understood how to deal with them especially Poppy, when she was being difficult. I would definitely recommend his services to anyone and would 100% use him again (if he'll have Poppy)

    + More 9th April 2016

  • Diane
    Diane

    Am really happy with the service that Carl provided. He was very flexible and I felt that Barney was in great hands! Carl kept in contact through out Barneys overnight (and a bit longer) stay. Carl is very calming and eliminated any fears I had of leaving our furry son! Will definitely be using Carl's service again!!

    3rd March 2016