Howard, dog sitter in Bristol

Howard's Bristol Walkabouts


Add To Wish List
About howard

Hey! Thanks for visiting my profile. I'm Howard, and I'm doing this after quitting my boring office job last year to work with dogs. So I switched from using this site as an owner to a walker and although it took a few months to get going I am now happy to say I'm a full time dog walker/sitter and dedicated to it. I love this job!

Rain or shine I'll never let you down. I love the outdoors and spending time with my gang of four legged friends. I am patient, experienced and understanding with dogs. I carry a rucksack with water, toys, emergency kit and towels at all times and my car is insured for dog transportation purposes.

Previously, I'd volunteered as a walker at rescue centres before and always grew up around dogs so I didn't begin this job without experience. More recently, I found myself with a dog of my own whom I picked up off the street in Romania when she was just about a month old. Rozi is a good girl... most of the time :) The amount of walking and socialising she gets is off the scale.

Long walks with active breeds are a speciality of mine - Blaise Castle, Stoke Park, Leigh Woods, Ashton Court & Snuff Mills are all frequent haunts of ours.

Currently my schedule puts me at Blaise Castle every Mon-Fri lunchtime for a long (2 hour+) walk. I have space for another dog or two for this awesome 4 mile trek around the grounds. If you want a healthy and happy dog this walk is highly recommended.

I am also available to do house-sitting rather than boarding for your dog. It's less disruptive for your dog(s) if they get to stay in their home environment whilst their humans are away. I have done this many times for existing clients and some of the reviews below mention this.

I'm available for house-sitting and walking 7-days per week. Dog day care is tricky due to my walking schedule but if you have a particularly active and social dog who could join us for a day of walking then he/she would have an amazing time.

+ More
    • Passed assessment
    • Approved by DogBuddy
  • Number of completed bookings: 78
  • Response rate: 94%
  • Response time: within a few hours
  • Cancellation policy for 24h boarding: Moderate
  • Cancellation policy for other services: Flexible
  • Property type: House
  • Resident dogs: Two
  • Outdoor space: Terrace / Patio
  • I have a car for emergencies
  • I can administer oral medications
  • I can administer injectable medications
  • Dog care is my primary occupation
  • John

    Tiger had an amazing time with Howard. I was thrilled with the videos he sent me and the friendliness and enthusiasm In the video was really reassuring. I can see Howard really loves dogs which makes me feel completely at ease leaving my boy in his care. I will be using Howard in the future for all of my walks and day care when I'm away. Thanks for looking after him, I really appreciate it and I'm sure Tiger will look forward to the next time.

    4th February 2017

  • Hayley

    Our lurcher puppy Friday adored Howard and had a great time walking with him for the first time - we're looking forward to more! Howard was really helpful and gave some tips for recall training, which was really useful to know. We agree with what other people have said - Howard is clearly very interested in his work! We have already booked him for another walk and Friday will be very excited to see him again!

    7th January 2017

  • Richard

    Thank you Howard and Rozi for looking after our lurcher Frankie for the day! He is absolutely pooped and has obviously enjoyed himself immensely, meeting other dogs and being out on new exciting walks. Howard was great at fitting us in at short notice, and is enthusiastic and helpful and obviously loves his work. We got regular texts and photos throughout the day, and will definitely be using Howard again. Happy dog, happy owners!

    21st December 2016