Dawn, dog sitter in Nottingham

Walks and cuddles with waggy tails

Dawn

About Dawn

I have been passionate about all animals since around 4 years of age, starting with hamsters from the age of 4, then German Shepherds and cats. At the age of 8 years old I trained our first German Shepherd and since have trained my own dogs, including my own first dog, a Golden Retriever called Sandy, Collie called Bessie and my 2 current dogs, English Springer Spaniels, Lucy and Lacey. I have plenty of experience in basic training (including socialisation & behaviour problems). I am experienced with bathing, brushing and looking after nervous, sick and injured animals, including tube feeding, flea/worming treatment, administering drugs for seizures, antibiotics and many others which require oral or rectal administration.

From the age of 13-16 I worked in a pet shop, tending to all sorts of weird and wonderful pets, including snakes, bushbabies, coatimundi and many more, from cleaning out to feeding. I then bred Chinchillas for 10 years, whilst working full time.

I love playing with, walking and teaching dogs basic skills, from puppy's to 18 year old Collie's, I adapt my techniques according to age/breed, needs and character of the dog. Dog sitting/boarding will only be within your own home and walking the routes your dog is familiar with as I believe it is of the up-most importance for their health, happiness and well-being. I am mainly familiar with medium to large breeds but am more than happy to look after giant or small! Your dog(s) will only be looked after on their own, giving them 100% of my undivided time and attention. General duties will include walking, petting, feeding, vet trips & fussing any other pets too, cleaning up after them (including other small pets/reptiles).

Most of my days are currently spent walking my own dogs around Bestwood Lodge woodland and helping elderly and vulnerable people who live in their own homes with gardening, d.i.y and decorating. I am available 24 hours a day, working to suit mutually convenient times.

+ More
Credentials
    • Address verified
    • Passed assessment
    • Approved by DogBuddy
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
  • Cancellation policy for 24h boarding: Flexible
  • Cancellation policy for other services: Flexible
  • Property type: House
  • Resident dogs: Two
  • Other Pets: 3 cats, a Continental Giant rabbit, koi carp
  • Outdoor space: Garden, Terrace / Patio
  • I have a car for emergencies
  • I can administer oral medications
  • Dog care is my primary occupation