About Melissa

My name is Melissa and I have an amazing 14 year old Alaskan Malamute called Atch. He loves the company of other dogs and also likes long snoozes nowadays. He is extremely friendly and has previously lived with cats, rabbits and birds. I live in a flat (not a block, I have my own entrance) and have a large private balcony (approx 7f x 17f) the door is often open as Atch likes to come in and out and lay outside. We have 3 walks a day, everyday, rain or shine (morning, afternoon & evening) There is a large park just across the road with a very friendly bunch of dogs & owners we see on a regular basis. Often on the weekends we go somewhere different for walks, such as the forest or the beach. Your dog will be treated exactly the same as I treat my own, Atch loves the company of other dogs and it is nice for him to have a doggy companion. As I work, I am not at home all the time during the week, if your dog needs 24/7 human interaction then I am not the sitter for you. I currently work from Monday to Friday and come home at lunchtimes so would be best suited for dogs who are used to their owners going to work. I am at home in the evenings and weekends. I have experience with a lot of animals (I have owned many) and I also look after friends animals when they go on holidays, dog sitting, feeding cats, birds and occasionally have a friends lovely bearded dragon to stay. I am 100% trust worthy and genuinely love animals (with the exception of spiders) Due to Atch being an old man now I generally only accept dogs over the age of 5, with the odd exception. Any dog that comes to stay must be fully house trained, non destructive and happily fit into our walking schedules. As you will notice, the lack of garden, not being home 24/7 e.c.t are taken into consideration with my rates being considerably less than most others. I am happy to answer any questions and have a chat.

I have very sadly now lost Atch - I will update the above soon.

+ More
Credentials
    • Address Verified
    • ID Verified
    • Passed assessment
    • Approved by DogBuddy
  • Repeat clients: 5
  • Completed bookings: 28
  • Response rate: 98%
  • Response time: within a few hours
  • Cancellation policy for dog boarding: Moderate
  • Cancellation policy for other services: Flexible
Availability
If you have special time requirements, simply let Melissa know.
Dog Boarding preferred times:
Drop-off from 8 a.m.
Pick-up before 6 p.m.
Dog Day Care preferred times:
Drop-off from 8 a.m.
Pick-up before 6 p.m.
  • Property type: Apartment
  • Resident dogs: One
  • Other Pets: Budgie
  • Outdoor space: Balcony
  • I have a car for emergencies
  • I can administer oral medications
  • Rick
    Rick

    Melissa done a great job would highly recommend , will certainly use again

    27th August 2018
    Melissa, dog sitter in Southampton
    Melissa

    Thanks Rick! Rex was lovely and always welcome back :)

    27th August 2018

  • Velma
    Velma

    Kym has stayed with Melissa twice now and she was well looked after, being taken to different places for walks. She is my go to person when I'm looking for a sitter.

    30th July 2018
    Melissa, dog sitter in Southampton
    Melissa

    Thank you Velma! Kym is a lovely dog :)

    30th July 2018

  • Velma
    Velma

    My dog spent a week with Melissa. She got on well with Atch and was well cared for. I have no hesitation in recommending her to others. Velma

    23rd November 2017
    Melissa, dog sitter in Southampton
    Melissa

    Thank you Velma :)

    23rd November 2017

All DogBuddy bookings include:
  • 24/7 Emergency support & cancellation protection
  • Up to £1.7M pet & liability insurance
  • Free GPS tracked walks
  • Photo & video updates